Wild Arkansas

October 28, 2011

Juicing

Filed under: health — Tags: , , , — WildArkansas @ 6:27 pm

Inspired by Joe Cross, from the film,Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead, I thought I would try a ten-day juice diet. So it began Wednesday (10/26). I’m going to try a few foraged goods along with the diet, but have no idea how much I’m going to gather. It takes quite a bit of product to make a full glass of juice.

I’m also drinking water and green tea.

10/26/11

Day 1 – Morning: Mango, carrot, strawberries.

Afternoon: Carrot, apple and strawberries.

Evening: Tomato, carrot, cabbage, garlic.

Notes: The first two juices of the day were great. The last, I could barely drink. I think the cabbage ruined it, but the whole clove of garlic I added created a very spicy, cabbage tasting drink. Not good. I ended up only taking a few sips and poured the rest down the drain.

I think I need to get a book with different types of juice recipes.

Didn’t feel hungry at all until 3-4 pm. Then I felt a desire for real food. I worry I won’t have the proper nutrients, but I think with a little study I can find out what I need.

10/27/11

Day 2 – Morning: Started out with banana, apple, carrot and one plum. Very light tasting and sweet. Though I don’t feel “full”, I feel satisfied. I’m not hungry.

Afternoon: cucumber, pear, apple, plum.

After lunch, I had to run some errands and found myself surrounded by food. Real food. Or the stuff we usually think of as real food. In the midst of one of the stores we visited, I found myself wanting to go to the deli. The smell alone was overwhelming. Had to leave.

Evening: Pear, two apples, carrots, grapes.

I felt fine for awhile, but right around 10 pm I began getting hungry. I wanted to bite into something. Popcorn, a whole cucumber, a banana with peanut butter.

Fortunately, I kept my mind off it by writing this blog post about food that I can’t have.

I think the craving is part addiction. Most of us are addicted to food in an unhealthy way. Instead of eating for the nutrition we need, we tend to eat for other reasons.

I believe the juicing is a good break away from that addiction. It kind of illustrates in a (mentally) heavy-handed way how unhealthy our addictions are.

I don’t know if I can do a full ten days, but I’m definitely trying. It’s a great test of will, but I miss food. Maybe that will change.

10/28/11

Day 3: Morning: Pineapple, carrot, pear. I used more than a cup of pineapple and when finished ended up with a little more than ten ounces.

Sweet, light with a bit of tartness. Hoping today goes better than yesterday. Last night around midnight I broke down and ate a cucumber.

Cost of juicing

I’ve heard many people say that juicing is really expensive, but when I compare the cost to regular groceries I don’t think preparing juices costs more.

I went to the local Aldi market to look at produce and found the prices to be very agreeable.

I bought enough produce to last through two days of juicing and came out of the store paying less than $10. For six meals, I’d have to say that’s economical.

For anyone local, check out the Aldi market on Hwy 412. It’s directly across the street from Walmart and the produce is less expensive.

You won’t have the vast choices the larger store provides, but Aldi provides in-season produce and there is enough of a selection to satisfy most people.

A few comparisons:

Walmart                                                    Aldi

lrg bag of carrots                      1.48                                                          .99

Anjou pears                               2.49 lb.                                                  4 for .99

(3-4 fruit per pound)

red del. apples                          2.79 lb.                                                  1.49 for 3 lbs.

Pineapple (whole)                   2.99                                                               .99

Green grapes                             1.58                                       Same, but in 1 lb. pkgs.

(seedless) Walmart only sells grapes in two pound packages.

Plums are .25 each at Aldi. Not sure what the price is at Walmart.

The better alternative would be a green grocer, but in Siloam Springs we don’t have that option.

Cost total: about $5.00 a day for one person, if you watch prices. Most of this is not organic produce, so the cost would be higher to go that route, though probably not that much higher.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

